Mahoney Prize

The Mahoney Prize recognizes an outstanding article in the history of computing and information technology, broadly conceived. The Mahoney Prize commemorates the late Princeton scholar Michael S. Mahoney, whose profound contributions to the history of computing came from his many articles and book chapters. The prize consists of a $500 award and a certificate. For the 2017 prize, articles published in the preceding three years (2014, 2015, and 2016) are eligible for nomination. The Mahoney Prize is awarded by the Special Interest Group in Computers, Information, and Society (SIGCIS) and is presented during the annual meeting of our parent group, the Society for the History of Technology.

The deadline for submission for the 2017 Mahoney Prize is April 15, 2017. To nominate an article, send an electronic copy to all three committee members using the email address below. All questions should be directed to the 2017 Mahoney Prize Committee Chair, Dr. Jeffrey Yost (

2017 Mahoney Prize Committee:

James Cortada (term ends 2017)
Charles Babbage Institute
University of Minnesota
2917 Irvington Way
Madison, WI 53713

Jeffrey R. Yost, Chair (term ends 2018)
Charles Babbage Institute
University of Minnesota
211 Andersen Library
222 21st Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Melanie Swalwell (term ends 2019)
Screen and Media
Flinders University
GPO Box 2100
Adelaide SA 5001


Previous winners:

2017: Erica Robles-Anderson and Patrik Svensson, “’One Damn Slide After Another’: PowerPoint at Every Occasion for Speech.” Computational Culture (January 15, 2016). 

2016: Andrew L. Russell and Valérie Schafer, "In the Shadow of ARPANET and Internet: Louis Pouzin and the Cyclades Network in the 1970s," Technology and Culture 55, no. 4 (October 2014): 880-907.

2015: David Nofre, Mark Priestley, and Gerard Alberts, "When Technology Became Language: The Origins of the Linguistic Conception of Computer Programming, 1950-1960," Technology and Culture 55 (January 2014): 40-75.